Menu Close Menu

Blog

What are Washington’s Tough DUI Probation Violation Penalties?

Posted by Steve Karimi | Mar 29, 2018 | 0 Comments

Washington DUI laws are tough. They are among the toughest in the nation and the penalties imposed for a conviction are difficult and can limit your life. What is even worse though, is that few realize that if you violate your probation requirements in Washington, the penalties you can suffer are even more oppressive. 

When you are convicted of your first DUI violation, perhaps from you having tested just over the legal limit, your jail time is just one day. But, if you violate your mandatory probation conditions, the law requires the judge to order confinement for 30 days. The law does not leave any room for the judge to suspend or defer that confinement requirement, either.

What Are the Mandatory Conditions of Probation in Washington?

Washington state DUI statutes provide for three basic mandatory conditions of probation; the judge is required to impose these upon every person convicted of DUI.

Three Mandatory DUI Probation Conditions

  • No driving without a valid license and insurance.
  • No driving with breath alcohol level of .08 or higher within two hours of driving.
  • You must not refuse to submit to a breath or blood test when requested by an officer of the law.

Probation can be imposed for up to five years. Each of these three conditions remains in effect for the entire probation time. When you violate probation, your license is suspended for 30 more days. That means if your original penalty included license suspension of 30 days or more, you will lose your license for yet another 30 days. The judge can also use his or her authority to impose more confinement time as the law only sets forth a minimum penalty.

Does Confinement Always Mean Jail Time in Washington?

After a probation violation, the 30-day statute requires 30 days of confinement but that can mean more than one thing. A judge does have the discretion to impose other options to jail. For example, if you are convicted of a probation violation, the judge could order electronic home monitoring. This means you are outfitted with an electronic monitoring bracelet that uses GPS to keep track of your home confinement at your expense. Different judges often make different determinations; it all depends on your case, your violation, and the judge's leanings.

Because these violations yield tough consequences, you will need experienced representation to assure the best results in court. Without it, it is anyone's guess which penalties the judge will order under these strict statutes. Steve Karimi, a former prosecutor, is experienced in DUI law. With years of experience in the criminal courts, he can help you unpack your charges and vigorously defend you against the charges and, ultimately, the penalties associated with them. Get the help you need. Call Seattle's DUI Probation Violation Defense Attorney at 206-621-8777 today to schedule your appointment.

About the Author

Steve Karimi

Steve Karimi attended Pepperdine University School of Law. After graduation he worked as a prosecutor in Seattle where he gained valuable insight to the criminal justice system. Attorney Karimi uses his experiences as a prosecutor everyday only now he fights for the justice of those accused.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact Us Now!

Contact The Law Offices of Steve Karimi for a free consultation by calling us at 206-621-8777 or by completing the form in the sidebar. You will be put in touch with an top rated Seattle DUI attorney who will listen to you.

Seattle DUI Lawyer

If you have been charged with DUI in Seattle or the surrounding area, call The Law Offices of Steve Karimi. He has the skills and the experience to get you the best possible results. Do not trust your future to just anyone, get an experienced professional to defend you.